English title winners by number of wins

Manchester United clinched a record 19th league title on Saturday, one more than bitter rivals Liverpool.

A total of 23 clubs have been crowned champions since Preston North End won the first league title in 1888-89:

English champions by number of titles

19 – Manchester United

18 – Liverpool

13 – Arsenal

9 – Everton

7 – Aston Villa

6 – Sunderland

4 – Newcastle United, Sheffield Wednesday, Chelsea

3 – Wolverhampton Wanderers, Leeds United, Huddersfield Town, Blackburn Rovers

2 – Preston North End, Tottenham Hotspur, Derby County, Manchester City, Burnley, Portsmouth

1 – Sheffield United, West Bromwich Albion, Ipswich Town, Nottingham Forest


About mikechesterunited

A football enthusiast who also loves food, travel, photography and anime.

Posted on May 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: